The highest Lake in Cumbria.  All to ourselves.

No pleasureboats.  Or ice-cream parlours.  Just one stunning Art Deco hotel, set in 100 square miles of pristine wilderness, amongst the finest that England has to offer.  
  • The Haweswater was built in 1937 as part of the Haweswater Dam project and is a modernist / art deco masterpiece

  • It was built to replace the Old Dunn Bull Inn, which was flooded when the Dam was completed

  • Walls were constructed using local stone and the roof was made of Cumberland slate from old farm buildings in Mardale

  • Coping stones in the gardens were also reused from submerged Mardale walls and antique bell pulls removed from buildings in the valley were used in the new hotel

  • 'Modern' methods were also used, including the use of thin-frame Crittall steel windows and extensive use of Douglas Fir plywood

  • The hotel’s public rooms made specific provision for walkers, casual visitors and residents while staff were recruited locally.  The first managers, Mr and Mrs Hazlehurst, had previously been running the Dun Bull

  • Cutlery and furnishings, newly ordered from high quality suppliers like Waring and Gillow, were marked with a Manchester emblem. A stained glass window incorporating the city’s coat of arms was placed at the centre of the main staircase and a stag’s head from Haweswater, presented by a member of the Waterworks Committee, was mounted in the entrance hall. (It is still at the Hotel)

  • The hotel has now been fully restored, in keeping with its period but very much to modern levels of comfort 

Haweswate Hotel in 1937
Haweswater Hotel in1937
Haweswater Hotel in 1937
Haweswater Hotel in 1937